Day 02 : Something you love about yourself.

Is it bad to say that at my core I’m pretty content?

I feel like I should feel guilty about saying that, or that by saying it I might be jinxing something. I’m not superstitious at all, but….there’s always the unknown. Anyhow, back to the question.

I love that I have succeeded in so many areas of my life. First and foremost…I found love at a young age. Met my beloved and fell in love at first sight. We’re still together and amid many of our friends’ 20-some-year marriages falling apart, (because they grew apart and stopped working on themselves as a couple) hubby and I are closer as a couple now than ever before. He’s my best friend, my soul mate, my lover, and just an overall great guy. I love that I have him in my life.

I love that I had my children when I did. Shoot, I love that I have them in my life! They enrich my life in hundreds of different ways. Children are magical creatures.

I love that I was blessed with intelligence, that I’m a doctor…and you may think that’s arrogant or egotistical, but if it weren’t for my clinical skills, I would have lost my younger son at age three to cancer. I love that I was guided into medicine and had the knowledge necessary to see what multiple doctors missed, to save his life. He’s still with me, my younger boy, and I love him more each and every day. He taught me each day is a gift, because you never know when you might lose someone precious. He’s so very much like his father, happy and a trickster at heart. I love my older son. He’s my greatest challenge because he is so much like me. He’s smart, opinionated, and I can’t wait to see what becomes of his life. He will do wonderful things one day, as soon as life tempers him a bit more. He teaches me patience on a daily basis and the strength of unconditional love. Amazing!

I love that I cry at movies. That going to church always chokes me up…Silly thing that…but it happens. I love that I hate war and yet serve. Go figure that one out, but I’m damn proud of it.

I love that I can’t sing or play a musical instrument. It means that I’m not perfect and I love that about myself. There’s always something to work on. I have plenty of flaws. I accept them, although I don’t leave it at that. I’m a work in progress and that I think sums up what I love most about myself.

I’m not finished making me into the best me I can be!

 

What about you? Care to join me in the 30-Days of Truth Challenge? Answer the question in the comments…it’ll be fun!

3 comments on “Day 02 : Something you love about yourself.

  1. Minnie says:

    Uhm….let me think…

    I love about myself that I have the ability to care for others, sometimes even more than I care about myself.
    I love that I am a good mommy. I love my girls more than life itself, they are my inspiration each and everyday. I love that they are becoming young ladies with strong heads on their shoulders. Well, I realize one of them is still a preteen…and having been there, done that, I can’t claim total victory yet. But, I am hopeful we can all manage the teenage years without much scaring.

    I love that I have such a wonderful mother. She is the kindest person I know. Her love and support are meant the world to me.

    And I love my job. I believe our little patients are the perfect example of strength and resilience.

    I guess even with all my flaws, there is still lots of good in me 🙂

  2. Melissa says:

    I love that I am a giver…I love that in myself sometimes it gets me in trouble but I love the fact that no matter how many times I have been stepped on. I still continue to give and all anyone ever has to do is ask.

Have a comment? A question? Let me know what you're thinking...What do YOU think should happen next?

