30 Days of Truth…Day 4: Something you have to forgive someone for.

So I was wandering around the blogosphere when I came across “30 Days of Truth” just being undertaken by a fellow blogger. The idea is to make a blog post each day for 30 days, using the prompts provided:

Day 04 : Something you have to forgive someone for.

Wow…this one is easy and hard. I don’t even know how to start this one.

I guess I have to forgive others for not living up to my expectations. But that is really more of a fault of mine than it is of theirs. They can’t help it that I have expectations, or that they’re not living up to them. I expect people to devote themselves to their jobs with the same passion I do. I expect them to strive to be the best they can be. I’m disappointed when they don’t. When I see that it’s just a job to them, that they forget all about it when they go home, that it’s not a burning passion in their lives…well I get disappointed. But why should that be? Shouldn’t they be devoted to their families as well? Isn’t that the more important and enduring part of all of our lives. I think it is, but when they are at work I demand that dedication.

But again, that’s my opinion.

Certainly there have been people who have been mean to me, done horrible nasty things to me, some of them quite close to me, but I can’t control how they treat me. I can only control how I treat them and I don’t wish any of them harm. I wish them the best in their lives, even if I won’t be a part of it. Some people you have to let go…and forgive. I’ve done that.

 

What about you? Care to join me in the 30-Days of Truth Challenge? Answer the question in the comments…it’ll be fun!

4 comments on “30 Days of Truth…Day 4: Something you have to forgive someone for.

  1. Minnie says:

    This one is in fact though….my gut feeling is to say I have to forgive those in my life who have not believed in themselves. Or someone in particular who lost faith on the power of the relationship we once had.
    I have to forgive those who have chosen to lie versus facing the truth and the one who chose to walk away…

    It is true…some people we may have to let go and forgive…I haven’t gotten there yet. Still working on that.

  2. Melissa says:

    I have to forgive my first husband for all the horrible nasty things he did to me and not just me but to my children. I have to forgive because I have become very closed to realtionships becaus eI am afraid that someone will hurt me the way he did when i gave him my whole self. I have to forgive because he has taken up way to much sace in my head for way to many years.
    I became the mother that I am because of him. So I have to forgive him because when push comes to shove I am a damn good mama.

    • You are a good mama…and you’ve become an even better wife (to a wonderful man). Just think…those experiences put you in the position you are to accept love back into your heart. We want to harm these people who have caused us so much pain, but-like you said- if it weren’t for them you wouldn’t be the wonderful mother and wife that you are now!

Have a comment? A question? Let me know what you're thinking...What do YOU think should happen next?

