30 Days of Truth…Day 08 : Someone who made your life hell, or treated you like shit.

So I was wandering around the blogosphere when I came across “30 Days of Truth” just being undertaken by a fellow blogger. The idea is to make a blog post each day for 30 days, using the prompts provided:

Day 08 : Someone who made your life hell, or treated you like shit.

I won’t lie. There are three individuals who fall into this category. Each of them in their own way have made my life horrible, unpleasant, or they have just been overtly selfish and treated me without grace. However, to post names or further details that would identify these people would be to sully me with that taint. I am a better person than them and I’ll treat them better than they have treated me.

In the end, as difficult and trying as these particular people have been, I’ve found strength in knowing them. I have not reciprocated the mis-treatment they’ve sent my way. I’ve remained professional and continue to look out for their interests. I wish them well in life even as I wish them a life well away from me. I think in the end, when you’re faced with dealing with difficult people, or even people who have treated you unkindly, the only thing you can control is how you react and respond.

Certainly it hurts. No one wishes to be disliked. And I honestly don’t understand some of the deep seated dislike-hatred that has come my way by some of these people.

However, I chose to live my life by a different set of guiding principles. I truly believe you need to treat others with kindness. Which is exactly what I’ll continue to do. I won’t baby them. When they do things that are flagrantly wrong, I’ll call them to task, but it will be because it is required of me, and it will be done professionally–to criticize their actions and not their person.

I choose to live a life of positivity not negativity. To hate another, to dislike another, to go out of your way to make another’s life unpleasant, is energy I don’t care to expend.

What I won’t become…is them. I am me. I respect others and care about them as individuals. I will not go out of my way to make anyone else’s life unpleasant.

Does that make sense?

Perhaps the most telling thing is that there is less than a handful of individuals that fall into this category. I consider that an achievement.

What about you? Care to join me in the 30-Days of Truth Challenge? Answer the question in the comments…it’ll be fun!

4 comments on “30 Days of Truth…Day 08 : Someone who made your life hell, or treated you like shit.

  1. Minnie says:

    Well, not to copy what the original writer has shared, I will just say. Yes, I have had the unpleasant experience to know someone in this category. And that I pray to God everyday I have learned my lessons from those unkind experiences well…

  2. Melissa says:

    A man who caused one of the most horrifing events in my life but out of that beautiful tragedy I got my amazing daughter. ANd my first husband but if I had not gone throught the hell he put me through I would not have my amazing sons. So I guess even thought those 2 people treated me terrible I got the best people I have ever loved .

    • This is very poignant and my heart just breaks, but I love your resiliency and positive attitude. Even out of pain and tragedy we can find something positive. I think that speaks volumes about a person’s heart and you have the strongest heart I know!

Have a comment? A question? Let me know what you're thinking...What do YOU think should happen next?

