30 Days of Truth…Day 13 : A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days.

The idea is to make a blog post each day for 30 days, using the prompts provided:

Day 13 : A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days.

I’m not really big on remembering bands names or such. But I have a few artists that ‘got‘ me through a few rough days. U2 for one “I can’t live with or without you.”  Sinead O’Connor’s “Nothing Compares 2U” and “Troy.” These were my ‘breakup‘ songs from my first foolish ‘love‘ in college. What an abusive crazy relationship that was as I found myself in a place, with a person, I needed to leave, but for many reasons couldn’t. Over time these songs gave me the strength to put that person firmly in my past. When I listen to these songs now, I don’t think of him. Instead, I think of the strength I found within myself to move forward and shut that door firmly in place. So they’re good songs, I still love them because their message is the same. I can triumph, no matter how hard it feels at the time.

Other bands that I treasure: Rush (all of it). old Genesis (when Peter Gabriel was still there), new Genesis…lots of great times with those bands that ‘got‘ me through whatever ‘it‘ was at the time.

What about you? Join me in the 30-Days of Truth Challenge? Answer the question in the comments…it’ll be fun!

One comment on “30 Days of Truth…Day 13 : A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days.

  1. Minnie says:

    I am not music savvy at all. But music in general has helped me through tough times. I just listen to random artists. Whenever I feel like I am losing faith, I listen to my “home” music. It reminds me of where I come from and all that I’ve done…helps me put things back into perspective 🙂

Have a comment? A question? Let me know what you're thinking...What do YOU think should happen next?

