30 Days of Truth…Day 18 : Your views on gay marriage.

The idea is to make a blog post each day for 30 days, using the prompts provided:


Day 18 : 
Your views on gay marriage.

Now this is a post full of landmines. Let me say this up front. This is my blog, my opinions, and my opinions are just as right and valid as your opinions. We may or may not agree on the content of this post, but that is not the point. The point is that all our opinions are valid and should be respected as such, whether we choose to disagree is fine, but let’s be grown up about it.

So, I believe marriage is a religious union that has seeped its way deep into the civil fabric of our communities. Marriage is a union that is blessed by God and by the congregation who bears witness to it. Marriage symbolizes a man and a woman’s devotion to each other and their devotion to God to uphold the covenants of God and ultimately to bear children and raise their children according to God’s decree. Marriage is a spiritual union that has civil and societal pieces to it. That’s a civil union.

I am not against civil unions for the Gay and Lesbian community. Not at all. I feel it’s important to find your soulmate and to live your life according to your values. I don’t think love should be denied or hidden in a dark closet because it is not love between a man and a woman. But I want to keep separate marriage and civil unions. I absolutely support civil unions because I think it makes individuals stronger to become a part of something else. Couples are valuable commodities to a civilization.

As I said Marriage is deeply ingrained in our civil code, so it bridges both religious and civil territory. I have no problem with civil benefits being extended to gay couples. As we know Marriage is a hit or miss prospect at best with nearly 50% of them ending in divorce. Married couples are not superior to gay couples, but neither are they inferior.

I dislike the attack being perpetuated against marriage as a religious union. Homosexuality is a sin, as is lying, cheating, coveting, etc. Everyone sins and one sin is no less or greater in God’s eye. So the fact that you are homosexual, or that I lied to my spouse, or that that person just killed another, are judged the same by God. We’re all wrong and must pay penance, and must be forgiven. Am I never going to tell another lie in my life? No. I will. Will I never covet? Nope. I will probably never murder someone and I won’t bow down to idolatry. There are certain sins I just don’t see myself committing. But I will commit sins in my life. So I don’t judge others who commit other sins. In the end, we all sin, and are judged the same for our sins.

So, I believe that gay and lesbian couples should have the same civil rights as I do as a married woman. I believe they should be allowed in to see their spouse in a hospital just like I can. I believe they should have tax breaks as a couple just as I do (although it’s really a penalty). I believe they should be entitled to survivor’s benefits and family health care. I believe all of that. They should have the same legal rights and responsibilities.

What I don’t believe in is stripping the religious basis behind marriage.

And when are the Polyamorous Group marriages going to surface and demand equal rights, or the polygamists, or the child-predators? Who’s to say any of them are wrong or have fewer rights than the rest of us?

What about you? Care to join me in the 30-Days of Truth Challenge? Answer the question in the comments…it’ll be fun!

Have a comment? A question? Let me know what you're thinking...What do YOU think should happen next?

