30 Days of Truth…Day 22 : Something you wish you hadn’t done in your life.

So I was wandering around the blogosphere when I came across “30 Days of Truth” just being undertaken by a fellow blogger. The idea is to make a blog post each day for 30 days, using the prompts provided:

Day 22 : Something you wish you hadn’t done in your life.

Hmm…this is soul searching. I’m tempted to say that I wish I hadn’t spent four years of my life thinking I was in love with this one guy in college. I was a fanatical mess. Love struck. Love dumb. Love stupid. I lost sight of myself. I allowed him to do horrible things to me, to my self esteem, to hold way too much power over my happiness.

And yet….

And yet….

Going through this period of my life, experiencing what he put me through changed me. When I met the next MAN in my life, I told myself, NO MORE. I will not be taken for granted. I demanded respect. I made him woo me. And…he did. Boy did I make that man work for me…and I fell in love with him. That was over twenty years ago and we are more in love today than we were when we first met.

So, I wish I had never met Scott, but if I hadn’t I wouldn’t have made my hubby court me the way he did. I believe courting is a valuable step in a relationship and in my case has led to a lifetime of happiness. So, I wonder…should I be thankful for the pain and misery I endured? Did that allow me to find the inner strength to see my worth within a relationship? I believe it did.

I guess, my message to everyone is that even your most painful memories are important journeys in life. Each of them shapes and molds us. Each has purpose. I’m on a path. I may not like it at the time, but there is a lesson to be learned. Perseverance is the key.

What about you? Care to join me in the 30-Days of Truth Challenge? Answer the question in the comments…it’ll be fun!

2 comments on “30 Days of Truth…Day 22 : Something you wish you hadn’t done in your life.

  1. Anonymous says:

    I had a relationship similar to that…..i was HEAD OVER HEELS in love. LOL, or so i thought. Anyways, it actually wasn’t until years AFTER we broke up that i thought back on the relationship and realized just how wrong he was for me, and all the bad things he did, and how terrible he made me feel. I agree that every thing in life is an important journey, and they are opportunities to grow. I wasn’t able to recognize his treatment of me then,….but because of him, i would be able to recognize it now. 😉

    • Well said! I couldn’t see it at the time either, and I wouldn’t have believed you if you told me he was no good for me. That came much later, after a lot of pain, and growth.

Have a comment? A question? Let me know what you're thinking...What do YOU think should happen next?

